Bird’s Eye

Yokohama Bird’s Eye View

This photo wasn’t easy!

Couple of months ago, I paid a visit to Yokohama and took loads of lovely photos, some of which were pretty darn good HDR candidates. However, since then I learned about the view from the Yokohama Landmark Tower, and it looked spectacular, and naturally I wanted to go there with the camera in hand.

Yesterday, despite being pretty busy at work, I headed there with a friend, then found the entrance to the tower where you need to pay ¥1,000 and get in a pretty cool elevator that travels at 710m/minute, arrived at the observation room. It was spectacular!

However, there is a huge window (duh, obviously), and to make things worse there are TVs behind light of which is reflected on the window. In order to not focus on the window I had to get real close to the window, but with a tripod that’s no easy feat. However I managed that, but the reflected light from the window was still bothering me. So I made my friend stand behind me and the camera covering the light from the TVs and after several attempts finally found a pretty good angle.

Despite all that though there was still some reflected light from the window in the final shots which I could get rid of only after a through cleanup in Photoshop. This is 3 bracketed shots merged in Photomatix, and then like mentioned about a few minor edits in Photoshop. I didn’t use any more enhancements using other post processing tools though; the scenery was spectacular enough on it’s own right.

One thought on “Bird’s Eye

  1. Pingback: PURPLE | Batch Processing

Leave a Reply

