Groovin’

Chilling Me Softly

Yesterday was fun. Like, TOTALLY! It was one of the best photowalks I’ve ever been to here in Japan, and with good reason. To begin with, I prepared a tad too much and so messed it up completely, just like me; in the morning I plugged in the battery to charge it despite it having more than half the life remaining, and so in the evening I headed back home for a quick shower, change of clothes and a snack, then grabbed the camera and headed out. All good, only minor glitch in the whole plan is that I promptly forgot the battery and left it home. And didn’t realize it till I arrived at the Harajuku station which is where the meetup people were supposed to… meet.

But luckily my friend Aurora was there, to whom I promised I’d be her wingman for the day, but now without a camera I was only going to be able to just do that anyway, but she was cool to let me borrow her camera whenever we cornered an unsuspecting victim; because the theme of the photowalk for the day was portraits of strangers, as in we were supposed to talk to random strangers and get them to pose for us. It was a fun experience with us having varying degrees of success from some people just turning away coldly to some others being completely confused and let us take the photos anyway to few more actually finding it rather cool and wanting to take pictures with us with their mobile phone cameras too! Finally when we gathered together again, in front of the station, this lovely girl was chilling with the guitar without a care in the world. I approached her and asked her permission with a thumbs up and she was totally cool for it. I think the photo itself turned out rather okay, though I could have done better composition wise at least.

After the photowalk it was time for food and beer, and as always, that too was fun.

Leave a Reply

